Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Related Resources

Support Mizzou Students

Gifts to the Mizzou Student Experience fund enhance out-of-classroom learning for all students. Make a gift today.


Campus Dining Services Scholarship Program Celebrates 20 Years

Scholarships are awarded annually to outstanding student employees

Published May 5, 2016
Updated May 6, 2016

students hold large checks

Campus Dining Services scholarship recipients are, from left, front row: Delyn Stephenson, Darius Caffey, Reid Vardell, Elizabeth Jennings, Seanna Schondelmeyer and Bailey Dent. Back row: Heather Tarr, Miranda Placht, Zachary Johnson, Brian Ritzie, Randall Buttliere and Jannice Newson. Photo courtesy of Campus Dining Services.

Campus Dining Services awarded scholarships to 14 student employees at a reception April 21 in the department's administrative offices above Plaza 900. The department, which employs nearly 800 students, has awarded 185 scholarships since establishing the scholarship program in 1996.

Scholarship recipients are selected by faculty and staff judges. This year's judges included:

  • Eliza Tse, professor and chair of the hospitality management program in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
  • Leslie Gale, parent relations coordinator for the Division of Student Affairs
  • Mike Sokoff, director of Parking and Transportation Services
  • Leigh Neier, assistant teaching professor in the College of Education

In 2015, Campus Dining Services introduced $100 scholarships for students nominated by their unit for Student Employee of the Year. The student selected as the Campus Dining Services Student Employee of the Year receives a $1,500 scholarship and represents Mizzou in the National Association of College and University Foodservices student employee of the year contest. 

Student Employee Scholarship Recipients ($1,000 award)

  • Randall Buttliere, animal sciences major from Buffalo Grove, Illinois (Sabai)
  • Darius Caffey, psychology and sociology major from Chicago (Mizzou Markets)
  • Bailey Dent, health sciences and nursing major from Rolla, Missouri (Business Services Office)
  • Elizabeth Jennings, black studies and psychology major from Macon, Missouri (Student Center)
  • Zachary Johnson, parks, recreation and tourism major from Independence, Missouri (Baja Grill)
  • Jannice Newson, environmental science major from Chicago (Student Center)
  • Miranda Placht, animal science major from New Haven, Missouri (Baja Grill)
  • Seanna Schondelmeyer, pre-nursing major from O'Fallon, Missouri (Sabai)

Student Employee of the Year Nominees ($100 award)

  • Theodosios Diplas, chemical engineering major from St. Louis (Student Center)
  • Brian Ritzie, parks, recreation and tourism major from St. Louis (Plaza 900)
  • Delyn Stephenson, art history and archaeology major from Ozark, Missouri (Mizzou Markets)
  • Heather Tarr, psychology major from De Soto, Missouri (Baja Grill)
  • Dana Wesselmann, general studies major from Chesterfield, Missouri (Pavilion at Dobbs)
  • Reid Vardell, linguistics major from Ashland, Missouri (Student Center)

Student Employee of the Year ($1,500 award)

  • Reid Vardell, linguistics major from Ashland, Missouri (Student Center)

Published by the Division of Student Affairs, 211 Jesse Hall, Columbia, MO 65211 | Phone: 573-882-6776 | Fax: 573-882-0158 | E-mail:

Copyright © — Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information.
An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.

Last updated: Aug. 15, 2017