Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Related Resources

Support Mizzou students

Gifts to the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Ally Scholarship Fund provide funds to students who support the LGBTQ community on campus. Make a gift today.


LGBTQ Resource Center hosts 18th annual Catalyst Awards

Awards honor those who speak up, out and often for the LGBTQ community

Story published May 10, 2016

The LGBTQ Resource Center hosted the 18th annual Catalyst Awards during a reception in Memorial Union May 4, 2016. The event honors individuals who work to support LGBTQ individuals and communities at Mizzou, in Columbia and across Missouri.

"Speaking up and out and often can mean a lot of different things," said Sean Olmstead, LGBTQ Resource Center coordinator, at the event. "It can be individual action, it can be online, it can be voices ringing, it can be behind‑the‑scenes, it can be glittering on stage, it can be on the floor of the Senate, it can be across the campus, it can be with one friend in need, it can be from the pulpit, it can be with money, it can be spreading the existing message, it can be challenging the existing message, it can be pushing boundaries, it can be starting the conversation with someone new, it can be connecting with new people, it can mean reaching out, it can be on Facebook, it can be anything."

2016 Catalyst Award Winners

  • College Avenue Hall Staff
  • Gabriella Renée
  • Margaret O'Hara
  • Brittani Savage
  • Payton Head
  • Clarissa Hughes
  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Zeta Alpha Chapter
  • Tara Jackson
  • Mason Aid 
  • Hayden Kristal
  • Wendy Evans
  • Craig Rooney

LGBTQA Scholarship Recipients

  • Jeanette Greene
  • Topher Otake
  • Sequoyah Moore

Published by the Division of Student Affairs, 211 Jesse Hall, Columbia, MO 65211 | Phone: 573-882-6776 | Fax: 573-882-0158 | E-mail:

Copyright © — Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information.
An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.

Last updated: Aug. 7, 2017