Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Related Resources


Mizzou Students Win First Place in National Radio Competition

KCOU hosts recognized for "The Big Electron"

Published March 14, 2017
Story by RoseAnn Sorce

Mizzou graduate students and KCOU radio hosts, Anahita Zare and Jacqueline Gamboa Varela recently won the Best Public Affairs Program by the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System for their show, "The Big Electron."

Created in 2013, "The Big Electron" is a one-hour radio show that explains important, interesting and relevant happenings in science and technology. The Big Electron brings scientists and experts to talk about popular topics occurring in the STEM fields. Each week the show focuses on a specific topic and explores the different perspectives and applications of that theme.

Anahita Zare and Jacqueline Gamboa Varela on their radio show

Anahita Zare and Jacqueline Gamboa Varela host their radio show "The Big Electron." Robin Walker photo

“Jackie and I worked very hard to deliver important science news in an understandable way, and it is an honor to be named the winner of this award,” Zare said.

Zare, from Orlando, Florida, and Gamboa Varela, from Chihuahua, Mexico, are studying chemistry. In addition, Zare is the president of Science Communication and Public Engagement, a student organization that aims to give graduate and undergraduate students in the sciences the tools they need to effectively communicate their research. Gamboa Varela is the vice president of the Graduate Professional Council at Mizzou.

The Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) is a not-for-profit educational association and foundation that serves education affiliated high school, college and community radio stations. IBS presents annual awards in categories such as best on-air personality, most innovative program and best comedy program. Winners were announced at an annual award ceremony on March 4 in New York City.

"The Big Electron" airs every Sunday from 5-6 p.m. on KCOU 88.1 in Columbia, Missouri.

Published by the Division of Student Affairs, 211 Jesse Hall, Columbia, MO 65211 | Phone: 573-882-6776 | Fax: 573-882-0158 | E-mail:

Copyright © — Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information.
An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.

Last updated: Aug. 7, 2017